12    March. Restoration of the “Fire Queen” Engine built in 1848 and refurbished at Penrhyn Castle. Eric Lander gave a presentation of the restoration Fire Queen engine he and several other National Trust volunteers worked on at Penrhyn Castle Bangor. In his talk he explained with the assistance of slides the intricacies of this complex restoration project. Eric also gave a presentation on the Llanberis to Port Dinorwic railway that brought slate down from the quarry to the port.

10   April. Colwyn Bay at War. Once again Graham Roberts came along to talk to the Society, this time about his recently published book “Colwyn Bay at War”. The book featured how the Ministry of Food was moved from London in 1939 to set up its administration for Great Britain to ensure that enough food was produced to feed the general population. The talk was about the two independent schools being requisitioned, the pupils who moved away to house the civil servants plus hotels and houses being used to provide living accommodation for the workers. The departments that were housed in the large houses of the area were shown and the effect of the increase in population also discussed as there became a lively social world for the locals and those from London to join in.

8   May. Walking Tour of Menai Bridge. Members gathered at the Heritage Centre in Menai Bridge and were split into two groups for a walking tour of Menai Bridge. These fascinating tours were led by two green badge guides and started at the HC and went along the Belgium Prom to the church and cemetery on the island, under Telford’s suspension Bridge to the old part of the Town and finishing at the HC. The guides pointed out the fascinating building en-route detailing the rich history of Menai Bridge and its importance as the gateway to Anglesey.

14th.June. Annual Outing. The trip this year was to Ruthin. Over 40 members travelled by coach to the town to visit a number of old buildings in the town. We had the benefit of a Blue Badge Guide for the walking tour and one of the guides at Ruthin Jail dressed up as a warder in the 19th Century to show how the Jail would have been during this period. After the visit to Ruthin we stopped at Llanrhaeder to visit St Dyfnog’s Church to view the famous Jesse Window. The churchwarden gave a talk on the history of the church and the window and to complete the tour members could visit the old Anvil Pottery.


 

 

  Site Map